John Flood is Con Sean champion for the fifth time

John Flood is Con Sean champion for the fifth time
John Flood won the Con Sean Cup for the fourth time in six years and for fifth time over all (2007, 2010, 2011, 2014 and 2015).

John Flood won the Con Sean Cup for the fourth time in six years and for fifth time over all (2007, 2010, 2011, 2014 and 2015).

His opponent in the final was his county team mate Noel O’Donnell from Glenfin where John won out 6-2 in a solid performance on the night by the man from Milford, John only dropped four legs on route to the final while Noel only dropped two until the final where he did not perform as well as he did all afternoon. Shaun McGlynn had the highest checkout of the day with a 156 while Noel O’Donnell had the least dart leg with a 12 darter in the semis.

In the first round the big clashes were that of locals Kenneth Kennedy against John Con McGinley and Andrew Gillespie against Dermot McGuire, Kenneth beat John 3-0 while Andrew was defeated by Dermot 3-2 but missed several darts to win, James Byrne and Jamesie Boyle had a great match as well with 180s and lots of 100+ scoring in a close match in all five legs there were several other top matches in the first round with Campbell Jackson hitting a 131 checkout in his win against Shaun Gallagher and Shaun McGlynn taking out 156 in his victory over Barry Carr.

In Round Two Amir Quaimbao defeated Campbell Jackson 4-2 in a great game of darts, Kenneth Kennedy came from 2-0 down to beat James Byrne 4-2 while Kieran Gallagher overcame Stephen Muirhead 4-3 in a tough battle, Colin Maxwell had a 104 checkout in his defeat to Dean Nutt, there was an epic battle in the main board where Gabriel Boyle overcame Enda “Cookie” McGinley 4-2.

In Round Three Amir Quaimbao was involved in another tight match where he overcame Johnny Bell 4-3 while Joe Flood beat Andrew Barron by the same score line, John Flood beat 2009 and 2013 winner Dermot McGuire 4-2 while Kieran Gallagher beat Joe Shovlin and Stephen Harron beat Gabriel Boyle also by the same score. Noel O’Donnell beat Declan Quinn in a solid performance, Kenneth Kennedy beat Dean Nutt 4-1 and James P Byrne beat Shaun McGlynn also 4-1.

In the Quarter Finals Amir Quaimbao was on the losing end of another close battle going down to James P Byrne 5-4 it was father against son as John Flood beat Joe 5-1 while Kenneth Kennedy beat Stephen Harron 5-2 and Noel O’Donnell beat Kieran Gallagher 5-1. In the semi-finals it was Kenneth Kennedy who won the first leg against Noel O’Donnell but playing the best darts of the evening Noel won the next five to move into his first Con Sean final while John Flood beat James P Byrne 5-0 in the other semi.

Thanks to all of the almost 60 players who entered on the day, to all the markers, checkers, ticket sellers, all who bought tickets (all money raised will go the patient comfort care unit in Killybegs Hospital) and anyone who helped out also to The Bridge Bar for again hosting the tournament and the following for donating prizes for the raffle, Oliver Byrne, Sean Byrne (Fishermen out of Ireland), Carrick Take Away, Adrian Byrne (Carrick Filling Station), Raymond O’Donnell (Quinn’s Supermarket), Evelyn Byrne (Central Bar), Cottage Chipper and John McHugh (Carrick Meats).

2015 Con Sean Results


John Flood 6 Noel O’Donnell 2


Noel O’Donnell 5 Kenneth Kennedy 1 (12 dart leg Noel)

John Flood 5 James P Byrne 0


John Flood 5 Joe Flood 1

Kenneth Kennedy 5 Stephen Harron 2

Noel O’Donnell 5 Kieran Gallagher 1

James P Byrne 5 Amir Quaimbao 4

Full list of results on