Nominees released for Donegal Sport Star awards

Nominees released for Donegal Sport Star awards
The names of the individuals, teams and schools for the 2013 Donegal Sports Star Awards have been announced this week .

The names of the individuals, teams and schools for the 2013 Donegal Sports Star Awards have been announced this week .

The presentation function, which takes place on Friday January 31st in the Mount Errigal Hotel, will have as special guest FAI CEO John Delaney.

The judging panel will sit down next week to select close on 40 winners and based on the huge array of successes last year there will be some very difficult decisions to be made in a large number of the categories.

GAA star Karl Lacey was the 2012 overall winner and picking the best sports person from last year won’t be an easy task with up to six names in the hat for the top honour in Donegal sport.

The front runners for the overall award will include world boxing silver medallist Jason Quigley; Irish winning captain Michael Murphy as well as Irish rugby grand slam winners Larissa Muldoon and Nora Stapleton and athlete Mark English.

It’s a huge list with just over a 100 nominees for the individual awards while in addition there is the team section and eight schools categories.

The schools awards will be presented by the Mayor of Donegal Cllr Ian McGarvey Tickets for the Donegal Sports Star Awards on Friday, January 31st are available from the Mount Errigal Hotel.

For further details ring the hotel on 9106700. Follow us also on or on Facebook at at Donegalsports Starawards


Anne Marie McGlynn, Lifford A.C.

Brendan Boyce, Letterkenny A.C.

Mark English, Letterkenny A.C.

Mary McLoone, Tirchonaill A.C.


Brid McGinty, Lagan Harps

Hughie Rua Gallagher, Gweedore


Chloe Magee, Raphoe

Sam Magee, Raphoe


Cian Hickey, Letterkenny Blaze

Dillon Muldoon, Donegal Town Basketball Club

Kelly Harron, Donegal Town Basketball Club

Ryan Malley, Donegal Town Basketball Club

Shaun Wogan, L.Y.I.T.

Tadhg Hickey, Letterkenny Blaze

Tara Khan, Donegal Town Basketball Club


Allanagh McBhaird, Ballyshannon

Austeja Auciute, Finn Valley A.B.C.

Jason Quigley, Finn Valley A.B.C.

Maeve Mc Carron. Carrigart A.B.C.

Labhaoise Clarke, Carndonagh A.B.C.

Brendan McDaid Memorial Special Achievement

Jason Black, Letterkenny (Mount Everest Ascent)

Clay Pigeon Shoot

David Porter, Lifford

Gordon Roulston, Kilmacrennan

Peter Monaghan, Buncrana


Ciara Doogan, Errigal Cycling Club

Conor Mc Ilwaine, Errigal Cycling Club

Philip Deignan, Letterkenny

P.J. Doogan, Errigal Cycling Club

Willie John McLaughlin, North Pole Cycling Club


Anne-Marie Wilson, Buncrana

Charlie Grant, Quigley’s Point

John Flood, Milford


Kenneth Graham, Muff

Lisa Moore, Glenleary, Ramelton

Patricia Warren, Donegal Gaeltacht Riding Club

Shannon Ramsey, Letterkenny


Emer Gallagher, Termon

Michael Murphy, Glenswilly

Neil Gallagher, Glenswilly

Neil McGee, Gaoth Dobhair

Paddy McBrearty, Kilcar


Brendan McCarroll, Ballyliffen Golf Club

Brian McElhinney, Foyle Golf Centre

Jack Duffy, Buncrana Golf Club


Alannah Gallagher, Letterkenny Community Gymnastics Club

Eilíse McLaughlin, Letterkenny

Megan Lynch, Desertegney

Hall of Fame

Hughie ‘Dickie’ Doherty, Buncrana


Gavin Lecky, Raphoe Hockey Club

Matthew Lecky, Raphoe Hockey Club

William Kilpatrick, Raphoe Hockey Club


Christopher McDermott, Burt

Danny Cullen, Setanta Hurling Club

Lee Henderson, Seán MacCumhaill’s

Sean McVeigh, St Eunan’s

Martial Arts

Damien Duddy, PT’s Kickboxing Gym, Carrigans

Elaine Dullaghan, Castlefin

Josie Murray, Letterkenny

Natalie McCarron, PT’s Kickboxing Gym, Carrigans

Óisin Mac Lochlainn, Samurai Uladh Judo Club

Sarah Jane Porter, Samurai Uladh Judo Club

Tony Mac Lochlainn, Samurai Uladh Judo Club

Motor Cycling

Aaron Mac Bride, Convoy

Richard Kerr, Kilmacrennan

Motor Sport

Declan & Brian Boyle, Lettermacaward

Declan Gallagher, Ardara & Ryan Moore, Letterkenny

Donagh Kelly, Frosses & Kevin Flanaghan, Newtowncunningham

Rory Kennedy, Letterkenny

Transplant Athlete

Vienna White, Letterkenny

Professional Sport Achievement

Martin Harley, Trentagh


Anita Gallagher, Donegal Bay Rowing Club

Kieran Keeney, Loughros Point Rowing Club

Paul McGonagle, Kincasslagh Rowing Club


Justin Allen, Letterkenny

Larissa Muldoon, Cappry, Ballybofey

Luke Dalton, Fahan

Nora Stapleton, Fahan


Amber Barrett, Lagan Harps

Barry McNamee, Derry City

Ciara Grant, Raheny United

Dale Gorman, Stevenage F.C.

Roma McLaughlin, Greencastle F.C.

Shane Canning, Moville Celtic

Special Athlete

Eileen Ferry, Errigal Sports and Social Club

Primary School

Kilmacrennan National School

Scoil an Choimín, An Coimín, An Clochán

Scoil Cholmcille, Letterkenny

Scoil Mhuire Gan Smál, Letterkenny

St. Mura’s National School, Tooban, Burnfoot

Primary School Sports Boy

Conor O’Donnell, St. Patrick’s Boys N.S., Carndonagh

Dylan Dorrian, Scoil Cholmcille, Drumman, Ramelton

Shane McMonagle, St. Mura’s N.S., Tooban, Burnfoot

Stephen Black, Kilmacrennan N.S.

Primary School Sports Girl

Eilíse McLaughlin, Lurgybrack N.S.

Gemma McFadden, Kilmacrennan N.S.

Jemma Ní Bhrollcháin, Scoil an Choimín

Karen Gallagher, Scoil Mhuire, Cashel, Fanad

Lee Walsh, Scoil Mhuire Gan Smál, Letterkenny

Ridhcheall Ní Dhochartaigh, Scoil an Choimín

Sarah Jane Porter, St. Mura’s N.S., Tooban, Burnfoot

Primary School Sports Teacher

Anita McMonagle, St Eunan’s N.S. Raphoe

Lisa Doherty, Scoil Mhuire Gan Smál, Letterkenny

Pauric McKinney, Scoil Íosagáin, Buncrana

Secondary School

Coláiste Ailigh, Leitir Ceanainn

Loreto Convent, Letterkenny

Scoil Mhuire, Buncrana

Seconday School Sports Boy

Aaron Mac Fhloinn, Gairmscoil Chú Uladh, An Clochán

Christopher O’Donnell, Magh Ene College,Bundoran

Darragh Mulgrew, Coláiste Ailigh

Jamie Brennan, Magh Ene College, Bundoran

Oisin Gallen, St Columbas College, Stranorlar

Óisin Mac Lochlainn, Carndonagh Community School

Secondary School Sports Girl

Allanagh McBhaird, Magh Ene College, Bundoran

Amber Barrett, Loreto Community School, Milford

Arlene Crossan, Loreto Secondary School, Letterkenny

Christine Russell, Royal and Prior Comprehensive School, Raphoe

Ciara Ní Fhíonnagáin, Coláiste Ailigh

Jade Leeper, Gairmscoil Chú Uladh, An Clochán

Shannon McGroddy, Loreto Community School, Milford

Secondary School Sports Teacher

Aidan McAleer, Scoil Mhuire, Buncrana

Catriona McLaughlin, Magh Ene College,Bundoran

Seosamh Mac Ceallabhuí, Coláiste Ailigh, Letterkenny

Surf Lifesaving

Ayesha Garvey Rossnowlagh

Garbhan Mc Closkey Ballyshannon

Triona McMenamin Letterkenny


Anne Marie Ward, Portnablagh

Ellen Doherty, Swilly Seals

Emma Harvey, Swilly Seals

Emma Vaughan, Swilly Seals

Leon Vaughan, Swilly Seals


Clonmany B Tug of War Team

Cockhill Celtic FC Senior Team

Donegal GAA Senior Hurling Team

Donegal Ladies Lifesaving Team

Finesse Gymnastics Display Team

Glenree U12 Girls Soccer Team

Glenswilly GAA Senior Football Team

Inishowen Junior Soccer League Team

Lifford Athletic Club

Milford GAA Club

Raphoe Hockey Club Men’s 1st

Golf Club

Ulster Senior League Interprovincial Soccer Team

Team Manager/Coach

Donal O’Brien, Cockhill Celtic F.C.

Mandy McNulty, North West Shotokan Karate Club

Ray Durack, Donegal Hurling Team


Aidan Callaghan, Letterkenny 24-7 Triathlon Club

Fin Begley, Letterkenny 24-7 Triathlon Club

Gavin Crawford, Letterkenny 24-7 Triathlon Club

John Cannon, Letterkenny 24-7 Triathlon Club

Margaret Kelly, Letterkenny 24-7 Triathlon Club

Siobhan Gallagher, Gartan