Letterkenny AC celebrate at annual awards night

Letterkenny AC celebrate at annual awards night
Around 100 people attended the Letterkenny Athletic Club’s annual presentation function in the Station House Hotel on Friday night.

Around 100 people attended the Letterkenny Athletic Club’s annual presentation function in the Station House Hotel on Friday night.

Juvenile and senior members joined parents, sponsors, elected representatives, committee members and coaches to celebrate another hugely successful year for the club.

Guest speaker, Paddy Marley, paid tribute to the athletes, parents and coaches for their efforts and was particularly high in his praise for club coach, Teresa McDaid. Paddy, a former fixtures secretary with the Athletics Association of Ireland - he also managed Irish athletics teams in all major championships - said the club was producing exceptionally talented track runners and wished all associated with Letterkenny AC continued success.

In his address, Letterkenny Town Mayor, Cllr Paschal Blake said he was extremely impressed at the achievements of Letterkenny AC. He also appealed to club members to attend tonight’s public meeting where members of Letterkenny Town Council will meet with members of the Oireachtas in an attempt to convince Minister Phil Hogan not to proceed with his plans to do away with local councils.

Letterkenny AC Chairman, Brendan McDaid, was high in his praise of the help and assistance the club receives from Letterkenny Town Council staff and its elected members.

The chairman stressed the importance of the club being able to cater for people who want to take part in all disciplines and at all levels. An appeal was also made to parents of children to get involved more involved in coaching.

A DVD of the 40 year history of Letterkenny AC was also launched on the night. Produced by Johnny McCollum, the DVD is on sale for ten euro.

MC for the evening was Ciaran O’Donnell.

Senior award winners

Road athlete, Ivan Toner.

Cross country athlete, Christopher Johnston.

Track and field, Darren McBrearty.

Most improved female athlete, Irene McFadden.

Most improved male athlete, Kieran Coyle.

Best newcomer, Niall Barry.

Performance of the year, Ruairi Finnegan.

Female athlete of the year, Fionnuala Diver.

Male athlete of the year, Brendan Boyce.

Masters athlete of the year, Ciaran Doherty.

Captain’s award, Niamh McDaid.

Club Person of the Year, Bernie Walsh.

Juvenile award winners

Cross country athlete, Peter Gibbons.

Girl indoor athlete, Maeve Rafferty.

Boy indoor athlete, Lisa Gibson.

Sportshall, Oisin Bradley.

Under-13 athlete, Conor Farrell.

Team award, Liam Hannigan and Sean McGinley (u-11 600 metre boys).

Most improved girl athlete, Rachel Tinney.

Most improved boy athlete, Jamie Doherty.

Track and field, Tara Carr.

Performance of the year, Arlene Crossan.

Athlete of the year, Tara Carr.