Guest speaker Orlaith McBride Director of the Arts Council with Sean Bonner president of Donegal Historicial Society (centre) and Sean Beattie, editor of the Donegal Annual
The County Donegal Historical Society recently launched their 2018 Annual.
An excellent publication it runs to 148 pages solely dedicated to events researched by respected Donegal historians in all areas of the county.
It is laden with fascinating articles, among them historical delights of Inishowen explaining the detail of a collection of carved stone crosses.
There is a fascinating piece on Amateur Drama in Ballyshannon from 1952-61 which in many respects was a golden era for Ballyshannon.
There is an article about the Scalans of Open Air Mass in the Donegal Mountains 1867, a relic of the Penal Days.In 1938 Inver schoolgirl Mairead Ni Fhrighill collected a story from local John Hurley on the Scalan days in Ireland and in particular in the Ardaghey region.
Up to 1894 when St Naul’s Church was erected, the Ardaghey Scalan would appear to have been used. A similar scalan was in use in Drimarone until St Mary’s was built in 1868.
A scalan was an open shed of six feet square just enough to shelter the officiating priest and altar boy during Mass.
Stories too of Donaghmore parish and Sessiaghmore near Castlefin home of the 1924 Grand National winning horse ‘Master Robert’ to the story Magee/ Temple family woven tweed, to Helen Meehan’s ‘By the Banks of the Eanymore’.
The book was launched by guest speaker Orlaith McBride, Director of the Arts Council.
The annual is edited by the vastly experienced Sean Beattie and is available from society members and from various book shops across the county and is well worth a look.