Niamh Kennedy tops poll in Donegal LEA by five votes

Declan Magee


Declan Magee



Work to begin on two south Donegal bridges

Niamh Kennedy has topped the poll again in the Donegal LEA

Independent Niamh Kennedy has topped the poll in the Donegal LEA with 1,540 first preferences.

The Killybegs outgoing councillor topped the poll for the second time, just five votes ahead of Sinn Féin councillor Noel Jordan who polled 1,535.

Fianna Fáil councillor Micheál Naughton came in third on 1,192 ahead of first-time candidate Barry Sweeny of Fine Gael on 1,116.

John McNulty of Fine Gael was next on 978 followed by Donegal town independent Tom Conaghan on 944.

Sinn Féin candidate Michael McMahon from Bundoran polled 900 while outgoing independent councillor Seamus Maguire and Billy Grimes (Ind) are tied on 868.

Returning officer Pauric Sheerin made the first declaration at 5.22 pm.

The electorate was 23,075 with a total valid poll of 14,298. The quota is 2,043.

Justin Coughlin (Ind) was eliminated on the first count and his 138 votes are being redistributed.

Donegal LEA - Declaration of the first count

John J Boyle (FG) 791

Cyril Brennan (People Before Profit) 284

Tom Conaghan (Ind)  944

Justin Coughlin (Ind) 138

Diarmaid Doherty (Ind) 389

Billy Grimes (Ind) 868

Noel Jordan (SF) 1535

Niamh Kennedy (Ind) 1540

Pauric Kennedy (Ind)  735

Seamus Maguire (Ind)  868

Philip McGlynn (FF) 521

Eimear McGuinness (FF) 497

Michael McMahon (SF)  900

John McNulty (FG)  978

Valerie McNulty (Ind) 194

Roger Meehan (FF) 483

Michéal Naughton  (FF) 1192

Seán Ó Beirne  (Ind) 325

Barry Sweeny (FG) 1116

Justin Coughlin on 138 eliminated