Kiltoorish House, Rosbeg is under consideration to become one of Donegal’s Protected structures, Glenties Municipal Councillors learned last week.
The three bay two storey farmhouse was built in 1880 and upgraded in 1910.
The house is situated in a scenic area and overlooks O’Boyle’s Island, on Kiltoorish Lough.
The site also boast of a courtyard surrounded by single story stables and outbuildings.
The request for Protected Structures status has been requested by the owners.
Kiltoorish House, is one of three buildings in the Glenties Municipal area that are currently under consideration for Protected status.
The others are St Mary’s Church, in Derrybeg and Termon House, in Maghery, outside Dungloe.
St Mary’s Catholic Church was built in 1860 with a sacristy added in 1874 and was part of a Gothic revival, in Ireland.
It is currently being used as a community hall but is seen as of important historic value.
Termon House is the oldest of the buildings. It was built in 1770 by the Marquis Conyngham.
A famine wall, built as a public works project in 1847 to alleviate poverty and suffering during the famine surrounds the house.
Termon House is seen as a very important part of the social history of the area.
Notice is due to be served on owners and the names of the building is due to go on public display for 11 weeks this week.
The names of the building are due to go to the Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs before July 6th.
And the new list of Protected Structures will be published in September. Property owners will be notified beforehand.