Coláiste  Ailigh are Donegal Senior B Schools’ champions


Tom Comack


Tom Comack

Coláiste  Ailigh are Donegal Senior B Schools’ champions

Colaiste Ailigh celebrate Donegal B title in Convoy

Coláiste  Ailigh produced a storming finish to win the Donegal Schools’ Senior B after a hard  fought final victory over Magh Éne  College, Bundoran, in Convoy, this afternoon.

Coláiste  Ailigh 1-12

Magh Éne   0-9

The Letterkenny boys had to dig deep as they came from a point down with a little under five minutes on the clock to win by six points.

Michéal MacSuibhne scored a goal and Niall O Hannagain, Jeaic MacCeallabhui, Brian Mac A tSaoir and Sean O'Braoin kicked the points.

Magh Éne  played with the stiff breeze and led by two points, 0-7 to 0-4, at the end of an evenly contested first half.

The Bundoran boys scored the last four points  in the closing ten minutes as they came from 0-3 to 0-4 down.

Brian McHenry, with his second from wing back, Oran Gallagher, Niall Carr (free) and Cian Brennan scored those last points.

Coláiste  Ailigh's  Oisin MacGairbeith converted from  out wide on the right hand side for the game’s opening point after five minutes.

But Magh Éne  hit the next three scores as Timmy

Govorov, McHenry and Cian McEniff landed the points for Fergal Flaherty's side for a 0-3 to 0-1 lead with 15 minutes on the clock.

But with MacGaothin, Niall O Hannagáin, Brian Mac A tSaoir in good form Coláiste Ailigh had drawn level 0-3 by the 19 minute mark.

MacGaothin and Oisin Tuathaill  scored the Coláiste  Ailigh points.

And the Letterkenny boys were ahead shortly after thanks to a super point from MacGaothin, before Magh Éne  pulled away with that late scoring flurry.

MacCeallabhuí (2) and Diarmuid O'Cathail landed quick points on the resumption to tie up the game at 0-7 each.

But the Bundoran boys were two up again with two quick Niall Carr points for a 0-9 to 0-7 lead by the 44 minute mark.

Magh Éne  were looking good at this stage. But Brian Mac  tSaoir kicked an inspirational point for a one point game on 55 minutes.

This was followed by another super strike, this time from Nial O'Hannagáin, to tie up the game at 0-9 each with 56 minutes on the clock.

And then came the decisive score; a high punt into the Magh Éne  goalmouth from Eoin MacGaoithin broke and Michéal MacSuibhne was on hand to smash to the back of the net for a 1-9 to 0-9 lead with three minutes on the clock.

With the winning post in sight MacCeallbhuí, Mac a tSaoir and Sean O'Braoin added the cream to an amazing victory.

COLÁISTE AILIGH:: Joshua Pond; Oisin O'Tuathaill (0-1), Darragh OTuathail, Sean O'Rian; Diarmuid O Cathail  (0-1), Cathair O Dochairtigh, Niall O Hannagáin (0-1); Sean Mac an Ultaigh, Fiachra MacLochlainn; Eoin MacGaoithin (0-2), Michéal MacSuibhne (1-0), Oisin MacGairbeith (0-1,f), Jeaic MacCeallabhuí (0-3,2f), Brian Mac tSaoir (0-2), Ruairi O Buaidhe. Subs: Ross O'Mearlaithe for  C O Dochartaigh h/t; Sean O Braoin (0-1) for O MacGarbeith 44; Padraig MacDiarmada for S Mac An Ultaigh 55.

MAGH ÉNE COLLEGE: Conor Carty; Conor Jack MacManus, Matthew Duffy, Shane McGloin; Brian McHenry (0-2), Paul Murphy, James Stewart; Cillian McGloin, Cian McEniff (0-1); Cian Brennan (0-1), Luke Towey, Conor McCloone; Niall Carr (0-3), Oran Gallagher (0-1), Timmy Govorov (0-1). Sub; James O'Reilly for C J McManus, 38.

REFEREE: Robbie O'Donnell (Naomh Muire)