Naomh Conaill keep their Democrat Cup hopes alive League Division One

Peter Campbell


Peter Campbell

Naomh Conaill keep their Democrat Cup hopes alive

Dermot Molloy . . . scored the vital goal for Naomh Conaill

Dungloe 1-7
Naomh Conaill 1-10

Naomh Conaill kept their Democrat Cup hopes on track with victory in this backlog game on Thursday evening.
Dungloe got the first half of off to a great start scoring 1-1 to 0-0 after 7 minutes, Shaun Sharkey with a point and the goal by Adam Neely.
Naomh Conaill replied with three quick points from Anthony Thompson, Dermot Brick Molloy and Eunan Doherty. Dermot Molloy hit the back of the Dungloe net on 11 mins to put the visitors in front.
Eoin Duggan replied with a point for the home side. Dermot Brick Molloy's next shot hit the crossbar but he fired the rebound over the bar. Rory Boyle Paul McGarvey and Dermot Molloy traded score before the break to leave the half-time score Dungloe 1-3, Naomh Conaill 1-6.
Naomh Conaill's Eoin Waide opened the scoring of the second half but two quick points from Noel McBride and Adam Neely kept the home side in touch.
Dermot Brick Molloy and substite Brian McGuigan stretched the visitors' lead further as the game entered the last quarter. Anthony Thompson pointed on 16 mins and again Dungloe replied with two points from Caolan Ward and a free from Adam Neely.
On 55 mins Dungloe had a goal change but the keeper put it out for a '45' and the home side had to watch Adam Neely's shot hit the crossbar and cleared up the field.
Leon Thompson had the last say of the game pointing to leave Naomh Conaill winners by three points. Naomh Conaill are now just a point behind Kilcar at the top of the table and the sides have yet to meet in the last league game. Both have two games left.
DUNGLOE: Ciaran Sharkey, Jason McBride, Raymond Sweeney, Mark Curran, James mcCole, Doalty Boyle, Eoin Duggan (0-1), Paul McGarvey (0-1), Noel McBride (0-1), Caolan Ward (0-1) Luke Neely, Ryan Connors, Adam Neely (1-2 1f), Shaun Sharkey (0-1),Donal Rodgers. Sub Alan Rodgers for Jason McBride inj.
NAOMH CONAILL: Tony Byrne, Martin Gallagher, AJ Gallagher, Ultan Doherty, Marty Boyle, Aaron Thompson, Eoin Wade (0-1), Leo McLoone, Anthony Thompson (0-1), Eunan Doherty(0-1), Dermot Brick Molloy (1-4), Charles McGuinness, Rory Boyle (0-1) Leon Thompson (0-1) Joe Kennedy. Sub Brian McGuigan (0-1) for Rory Boyle
REFEREEl Robbie O'Donnell (Naomh Muire)