Donegal ETB launches third annual County Enterprise Day

LYIT to stage event later in the month

By staff reporter


By staff reporter


Donegal ETB launches third annual County Enterprise Day

Pictured at the launch of Donegal ETB’s Enterprise Day, taking place in LYIT on 19 October are left-right: Dr Martin Gormley, Director of Schools, Donegal ETB; Fiona Temple, Principal, Mulroy College,


Donegal ETB launched its third annual Enterprise Day for schools and Youthreach centres from across the county on Monday.

The aim of the day is to introduce the concept of entrepreneurship in a fun way to young people with the support of Donegal entrepreneurs.

This exciting event takes place in LYIT on Wednesday 19 October with a total of twenty-two teams from seventeen schools and three Youthreach centres from across the county registered to participate.

This is almost double last year’s number of teams. The day involves each team developing a product on which they are judged in a Dragon’s Den-type set up, including pitching their product to panels of business judges.

Teams are given a business mentor and an LYIT business studies student to guide them throughout the day. They will hear from guest speakers Jenni Timoney on entrepreneurship success and failure and Gerard Grant, Vice President, Pramerica, while Ian Harkin of Lottie Dolls, based in LYIT’s CoLab, will provide tips on how to pitch a business idea.

The day will also include fun activities, ice breakers and team building games with staff from Gartan Outdoor Education and Training Centre. MC for the morning is Highland Radio’s Lee Gooch.

Last year’s winner of the Enterprise Day was Deele College, Raphoe. Scoil Mhuire, Buncrana and Loreto Letterkenny came second and third.

Participating schools

The participating schools and Youthreach centres are Abbey Vocational School, Donegal Town; Carndonagh Community School; Colaiste Ailigh, Letterkenny; Colaiste Chineal Eoghan, Buncrana; Colaiste Cholmcille, Ballyshannon; Crana College, Buncrana; Deele College, Raphoe; Errigal College, Letterkenny; Finn Valley College, Stranorlar; Gairmscoil Chu Uladh, Ballinamore; Gairmscoil Mhic Diarmada, Arranmore; Loreto Community School, Milford; Magh Ene College, Bundoran; Mulroy College, Milford; Pobalscoil Ghaoth Dobhair; Rosses Community School; Scoil Mhuire, Buncrana; Youthreach Buncrana and Glengad; Youthreach Letterkenny and Youthreach Gortahork.

Keep an eye on Twitter (@DonegalETB) for updates on the day.