Councillors receive €1 million


Councillors receive €1 million

Donegal’s county councillors received over €1m in payments and expenses in 2015, according to figures just released.

Last year the local authority paid public representatives a total of €1,005,047.90.

The highest-earning councillors were the two who shared the cathaoirleach position over the last year, Cllr John Campbell, who received €37,534.14 and Cllr Ciaran Brogan who received €40,065. Figures for 2014 show Cllr Campbell received €42,730.79, which included part of his tenure as cathaoirleach.

The 2015 list also shows they were followed by Cllr Frank McBrearty Jnr, who received €33,999.66; Cllr Enda Bonner, who received €33,855.53; and Cllr Terence Slowey, who received  €33,123.89.

Five councillors received over €30,000 in 2015, including Inishowen Municipal District Cllr Nicholas Crossan (€32,277,22), Cllr Paul Canning (€30,713.29) and Cllr John Ryan (€30,136.72). Letterkenny-based Cllr Gerry McMonagle (€31,885.84). Glenties area Cllr Marie Teresa Gallagher (€31,382.88) and Donegal Municipal District and 2015 Deputy Cathaoirleach Cllr Sean McEniff (€30,670).

The figures were broken down into the basic representative’s pay of €16,565 as well as monthly expenses, cathaoirleach and deputy cathaoirleach allowances, SPC chairperson positions and mobile and broadband allowances.

The public representatives who received the lowest amount included Stranorlar Municipal District Cllr Gerry Crawford (€21,866) and Letterkenny area Cllr Mick Quinn (€21,365).

Letterkenny Municipal District Cllr Dessie Shiels was the only elected member of the council to not claim expenses in 2014 or 2015.

Full list

The breakdown shows Cllr Liam Blaney (Letterkenny) €24,348.32, Cllr Enda Bonner (Glenties) €33,855.53, Cllr Ciaran Brogan (Letterkenny) €40,065, Cllr John Campbell (Donegal) €37,543.17, Cllr Paul Canning (Inishowen) €30,713.29, Cllr Tom Connaghan (Donegal) €24,487.71, Cllr Gerry Crawford (Stranorlar) €21,866.24, Cllr Nicholas Crossan (Inishowen) €32,277.22, Cllr Albert Doherty (Inishowen) €25,803, Cllr Gary Doherty (Stranorlar) €27,198.14, Cllr Liam Doherty (Stranorlar) €22,283.21, Cllr Rena Donaghey (Inishowen) €27,534.07, Cllr Martin Farren (Inishowen) €26,809.57, Cllr Marie Theresa Gallagher (Glenties) €31,382.88, Cllr Martin Harley (Stranorlar) €23,246.59, Cllr Noel Jordan (Donegal) €29,401.34, Cllr Jimmy Kavanagh (Letterkenny) €23,056.58, Cllr Niamh Kennedy (Donegal) €27,769.15, Michael Colm MacGiolla Easbuig (Glenties) €25671.48, Cllr Frank McBrearty (Stranorlar) €33,999.66, Cllr Michael McBride (Letterkenny) €28,910.83, Cllr James ‘Pat’ McDaid (Letterkenny) €25,254.75, Cllr Martin McDermott (Inishowen) €26,839.87, Cllr Sean McEniff (Donegal) €30,671.03, Cllr Ian McGarvey (Letterkenny) €24,957.56, Cllr Patrick McGowan (Stranorlar) €24,951.02, Cllr Bernard McGuinness (Inishowen) €25,565, Cllr Gerry McMonagle (Letterkenny) €31,885.84, Cllr Jack Murray (Inishowen) €24,493.11, Cllr Seamus O’Domhnaill (Glenties) €26,320.28, Cllr John O’Donnell (Letterkenny) €29,781.17, Cllr John Seamais O’Ferraigh (Glenties) €26,154.68, Cllr Barry O’Neill (Donegal) €25,665, Cllr Mick Quinn (Letterkenny) €21365, Cllr John Ryan (Inishowen) €30,136.72, Cllr Terence Slowey (Glenties) €33,123.89.

No payments or expenses were listed for Cllr Dessie Shiels (Letterkenny) in 2015.