Four Masters edge past Termon

Four Master managed to claw back a five point deficit to claim a narrow win over Termon yesterday.

Four Master managed to claw back a five point deficit to claim a narrow win over Termon yesterday.

Termon 1-09

Four Masters 0-13

The home side started sprightly playing with the breeze. Darragh McDaid got them off to a good start, pointing a free won by Kevin “Whoppa” McMenamin in the second minute. This was followed by a score from play by Trevor Alcorn and another free by McDaid.

It was the eighth minute before the visitors responded with a fine score from Conor McMonagle from play and they then drew level with two points from Peadar Esby.

Termon hit back when a Caolan McDaid shot was saved but Darragh McDaid was on hand to side foot it into the net for the game’s only goal. Points followed from Kevin McMenamin and two from Darragh McDaid and Trevor Alcorn.

Michael Doherty and Esby pointed for Four Masters leaving the half time score 1-7 to 0-5.

Four Masters came out of the blocks strongly after the restart with four unanswered points to put them right back into the game. The scores came from Sean O’Kennedy from play, two frees from Esby and one from Conor McMonagle.

Steve McElwaine responded with a very good effort and Darragh McDaid added another. Barry Monaghan struck two back for Masters.

Michael Doherty fisted over a point to draw the game level in the 55th minute and the winning score came from the fist of Kevin McBrearty after a fine move.

Termon: Francie Friel; Kevin McDaid, Anthony McGrenra, Sean McDaid; Joe English, Declan O’Donnell, Nathan McElwaine; Bernard Alcorn, Aidan Sweeney; Steve McElwaine (0-1), Caolan McDaid, Ricky Gallagher; Kevin McMenamin (0-1), Darragh McDaid (1-5), Trevor Alcorn (0-2),

Subs: Jamie Gallagher for B Alcorn (17 mins), Joe O’Donnell for N McElwaine (28), Dan Conaghan for S McDaid (50). Darren Gibson for J English (black card)

Four Masters: Sean Martin; Darren Walsh, Kevin Breslin, Danny McGarrigle; John Boyle, Conor Rooney, Barry Dunnion; Kevin McBrearty (0-2), Barry Monaghan (0-2); Sean O’Kennedy (0-1), Conor McMonagle (0-2), Peadar Espey (0-4, 3f); Michael Doherty (0-2), Shane Carr, Patrick Reid.

Subs: Darragh Quinn for D Walsh (20 mins), Gavin Bennett for P Reid (38), Ryan O’Donnell for M Doherty (57). Leo McHugh for J Boyle (60).

Referee: A. Mullen.