Magh Ene take U-16 B Co. title

Magh Ene take U-16 B Co. title
Magh Ene College U-16’s boys team were victorious in The Donegal VEC Schools B League Final last Friday against Moville CS.

Magh Ene College U-16’s boys team were victorious in The Donegal VEC Schools B League Final last Friday against Moville CS.

Magh Ene- 2-10

Moville- 0-6

The two rival teams and supporters from both schools travelled to Convoy to witness the defeat or triumph of their school team.

In the first half there was many wides from both sides, Darragh Elliot, Magh Ene’s free-taker and key player in the half forward line, narrowly missed a few frees at the beginning of the first half.

There was a few confrontations between a few Magh Ene and Moville players. Garret Kearns, Leo Ryan and Adam Brennan from the Bundoran side consisted of a strong backline which Moville had a lot of bother trying to get through throughout the whole game. In the last ten minutes of the first half Moville had a goal opportunity but was saved fantastically by goalkeeper, Kelvin Mulhern.

Moville’s forward line handled them well and scored four points in the end of the first half. At the end of the first half, Magh Ene were leading by a point.

At the start of the second half there were two injuries on both sides, Magh Ene’s, Garret Kearns was carried off the pitch in injury and was substituted by Colm Clancy; one of Moville’s players had to seek medical attention for a dislocated shoulder.

Forward Declan Clancy sailed through Moville’s backline and kicked the ball straight into the back of the net and followed with another two brilliant points. This boosted Magh Ene’s confidence and from here on ran away with the game. Midfielders Shane Carr and Diarmuid Gallagher showed great skill with the ball and leadership on the field.

For Bundoran, the scores kept coming with two flawless points by forward, Conor Colreavy, one point from Niall Carr, Cian McEniff and Luke Towey. But Moville came back with two points. If being seven points ahead with five minutes left wasn’t good enough, Luke Towey put one last goal in the net. Moville could do no more, but kept working until the end and done extremely well to get to the final.

When the final whistle went, the Magh Ene boys were ecstatic, after all their hard training sessions and tough games all their work had finally paid off. Magh Ene’s Captain, Shane Carr was presented the cup, thanked Moville for the game and teachers and couches Fergal O’Flaherty and James Gilmartin for their work with the team all year.

Magh Ene: Kelvin Mulhern, Leo Ryan, Adam Brennan, Lee McCallion, Paul Murphy, Cillian McGloin, Diarmuid Gallagher, Shane Carr, Niall Carr(0-1), Darragh Elliot(0-2) Declan Clancy(1-2) Luke Towey(1-1) Conor Colreavy(0-3) Cian McEniff(0-1) Subs: Rory Malaniff, Dylan Stuttard, Timmy Govorov, Conor Carty, Brian McHenry, Conor McCloone for Lee McCallion, James Stewart, Radek Wymentowski, Oisin McGowan, Cian Brennan for Cillian McGloin, Seamus McGloin, Jamie Lee O’Driscoll, Colm Clancy for Garret Kearns, Paul Kelly.