Termon Ladies too strong for St. Eunan’s

Termon Ladies too strong for St. Eunan’s
Termon ladies put on a powerful display to be crowned Donegal Ladies Senior Football champions once again.

Termon ladies put on a powerful display to be crowned Donegal Ladies Senior Football champions once again.

Termon 4-11

St. Eunan’s 2-3

The Burn Road women overcame a battling but inexperienced St Eunan’s who struggled to cope with the experience of Termon.

A rampant display from Geraldine McLaughlin helped seal the victory and they now march on into the Ulster Club Championship.

They were four points to the good with scores from Grainne McCafferty, Geraldine McLaughlin, Lucy O’Flynn and skipper Maureen O’Donnell before Nadine Crawford pointed a free for St Eunan’s with over 20 minutes gone.

McLaughlin added a fine goal from a Roisin Friel pass. O’Donnell added another point before Roisin Friel blasted home another goal on 27 minutes making it 2-5 to 0-1. Danielle Fay combined with Nakita Burke to point from play as the half came to a close.

Roisin McCaffery wasted no time at the restart by pointing in the first minute. Maureen O’Donnell added a further one after five minutes.

On the 15 minute mark Rosin McCafferty fed a through ball to Geraldine McLaughlin who rattled the net once more making it 3-7 to 0-2.

With only pride to play for St Eunan’s hit back with a point from play by Sinead Hession. McLaughlin gathered a rebounded goal opportunity after Mo O’Donnell hit the bar to add a point.

The Letterkenny team got their first goal on 45 minutes with an excellent tight angle lob from Nakita Burke who picked up a pass by Fay.

Two minutes later they added another when Danielle Fay played it along the ground to side foot into the net leaving it 3-8 to 2-3. Maureen O’Donnell pointed a free, as did sharp shooter McLaughlin, before she gathered a loose ball and rattled a low shot past Laura Crawford to leave it 4-10 to 2-3.

Roisin Friel made a huge run to tip over the last score.

Termon: Laura Gallagher, Maria McFadden, Niamh Friel, Roisin Friel (1-1), Grainne McCafferty (0-1), Petra McCafferty, Emer Gallagher, Therese McCafferty, Roisin McCafferty(0-1), Maria Carr, Olive McCafferty, Nicole McLaughlin, Maureen O’Donnell (0-4, 3f’s), Lucy O’Flynn (0-1), Geraldine McLaughlin 3-3, 2f’s). Subs: Marie O’Reilly for M McFadden

St Eunan’s: Laura Crawford, Laoise McNulty, Stephanie Crampsie, Sharon Greene, Catherine Boyle, Eimhear Bradley, Kaneshia McKinney, Nakita Burke (1-1), Angie Callaghan, Lauren O’Connell, Bernie Cannon, Nadine Crawford (0-1f), Danielle Fay (1-0), Sinead Hession (0-1), Rose Boyle. Subs: Suzi Tinney for A Gallagher, Niamh McMenamin for N Crawford, Eimear McClafferty for L McNulty, Sadhbha Medlar for N Burke

Referee: G McHugh (Convoy)