Donegal All County League - Division Two

Termon got off to a winning start against Ardara

Daire McDaid and Enda McCormick were in fine scoring form for Termon

Staff reporter


Staff reporter


McCormick the star man as Termon defeat Naomh Muire

Enda McCormick was one of the star men for Termon

Termon got their league campaign off to a winning start with victory over Ardara at the Burn Road on Sunday, on Sunday.

Daire McDaid and Enda McCormick scored  seven points between them while Anthony Grant hit the goal for Termon.

It was a pretty comfortable win in the end for the locals after they recovered from a slow start. Ardara were the better side in the opening ten minutes and this was reflected on the scoreboard.

Ardara got off to a great start with Lorcan O’Donnell, C J Molloy and Shane O’Donnell all firing over points  to give the visitors 0-4 to 0-2 lead after ten minutes.

But once Termon clicked into gear they were the slicker outfit and they lead 0-7 to 0-4 at half-time thanks to three points each from Daire McDaid and McCormick and one from Caolan McDaid.

Paddy McDaid’s men turned up the heat in the second half and James Doherty and Michael Boyle got their names on the scoresheet and  Anthony Grant got on the end of a good Oisin Cassidy delivery for the decisive goal ten minutes from fulltime.

John Ross Molloy struck the Ardara goal deep in injury time.

TERMON: Michael Boyle (0-1); Caolan Gallagher Kevin McDaid Sean O’ Donnell; James Doherty (0-2), Nathan McElwaine Shane Doherty (0-1); Aidan Sweeney, Enda McCormick (0-3); Ricky Gallagher, Christy Conaghan, Oisin Cassidy; Caolan McDaid (0-2) Daire Mc Daid (0-4), Anthony Grant (1-0). Subs used: Dan Conaghan, Alan Dugera, Ryan McFadden, Johnny McCafferty, Evan Coleman.


ARDARA: Ciaran Gildea; Joe Melly, John Ross Molloy (1-0), Brian Whyte; Danny Walsh, Paddy McGrath, Nicholas Maguire; Conor Classon, Brendan McNelis; Robbie Adair, CJ Molloy (0-1), Peter McHugh; Lorcan O’Donnell (0-2), Shane O’Donnell (0-1), Gareth Concarr (0-3). Subs used: Declan Gavigan, Jack Brennan, Paul Watters.