Naomh Brid/Pettigo take South U-16 title

Naomh Brid/Pettigo take South U-16 title

Naomh Brid/Pettigo won their U16 Division 2 championship In Fintra on Sunday afternoon with style, defeating Naomh Muire.


NAOMH MUIRE . . . . . . . . . . . . 0-8

Before a good crowd Naomh Muire got off to a flying start with Joey Gillespie point with 2 mins on the clock. Naomh Muire were two points up thanks to corner forward Owen Martin scoring from play on 4 mins. Daniel Ward put them 0-3 to no score ahead.

Conor McGlone, Jack Britton and Eoin Rush at midfield were giving Naomh Brid/Pettigo an excellent baseto build scores. A free from Shaun Robinson on 8 mins got them off the mark. Ryan Brogan, who was real handful from start to finish, with a stylish left foot pointed on 10 mins, after good full-back play by Reece McGrath. Points from Eoin Rush and Ryan Brogan on 12 mins and 13mins sent Naomh Brid/ Pettigo into a one point lead.

Daniel Ward pointed a '45' to level matters but Shaun Robinson and Ryan Brogan edged Pettigo/Naomh Brid two clear on 18 minutes.

Fintan Doherty narrowed the gap before Shaun Robinson had the final score of the opening half on 25 minutes.

Half time score Naomh Brid/Pettigo 0-7 Naomh Muire 0-5.

The second half was one way traffic with Naomh Brid/Pettigo dominating in almost every sector. Conor McGlone pointed on 32 mins before Paul Diver made a super interception on 34 mins to set up Conor McGlone to point from 45 yards out.

Declan McGready pointed from distance got Naomh Muire but Ryan Brogan replied. The scores continued to flow from Shaun Robinson, Jack Britton and Brogan to open the gap to 0-14 to 0-7.

Before the end Brogan and Matthew Gallagher added further points to one from Declan McGeady for Naomh Muire.

Afterwards Pat Walsh presented the cup to team captains Eoin Rush and Jack Britton.

NAOMH BRID/PETTIGO: Edward Britton, Paul Diver, Reece McGrath, Ethan Gallagher, Eoin Rush 0-1, Ciaran McGrory, Rory McGlone, Conor McGlone 0-2, Jack Britton 0-1, Matthew Gallagher 0-3, Ryan O Leary, Shaun Robinson 0-5, Sean Maher, Ryan Brogan 0-6, Aaron Calvey. Luke Burgess, Joseph Barron, Eamon McGrane.