Termon Ladies in the frame for GAA Writers’ team of the year

The Termon All-Ireland winning squad. Picture credit: Matt Browne / SPORTSFILE
Termon Ladies are nominated for the Team of the Year in the Ulster GAA Writers’ Team of the Year for 2015.

Termon Ladies are nominated for the Team of the Year in the Ulster GAA Writers’ Team of the Year for 2015.

The Awards night takes place in the Great Northern Hotel, Bundoran, on Friday, 13th November.

Two Donegal ladies - Geraldine McLaughlin and Yvonne McMonagle are also nominated for Lady Player of the Year along with Aimee Macken of Armagh.

Among the other awards, Conor McManus will be favourite to claim the Footballer of the Year award where no Donegal player has been shortlisted.

As usual, Ulster handballers went top of the pile, not only at home but abroad to prove to be the best in the world. Both the men’s and women’s World Open Championship titles rest in Ulster with a number of underage crowns won, as well.

Hurling, in senior ranks, may not have kept pace but lower grade National League titles came to the province with, sometimes, two northern province teams fighting it out for national honours.

In fact, history is made with the hurling nominations as, for the first time in the 28 years’ existence of the UGAAWA, neither an Antrim or Down player is short-listed for Hurler of the Year.

All the nominees will be at the black tie banquet.

Also invited will be provincial and annual GAA dignitaries plus all the Quinn Building Products Monthly Merit Award winners.

The Services to the GAA, Cultural Award and the Chairman’s Personal Award will be announced on the night of the function.

Tickets for the function are available for purchase and can be booked with members of the UGAAWA or at the Great Northern Hotel. A discount is available for tables of ten or more.

The nominations for the annual awards are:

Male Footballer of the Year – Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone), Conor McManus (Monaghan), Sean Quigley (Fermanagh).

Female Footballer of the Year – Geraldine McLaughlin (Donegal), Yvonne McMonagle (Donegal), Aimee Mackin (Armagh).

Hurler of the Year – Damien Casey (Tyrone), Paddy Henry (Derry), Brian McLaughlin (Fermanagh).

Camogie Award – Karen Kielt (Derry), Niamh Mallon (Armagh), Orla Mullan (Derry).

Handball Award – Paul Brady (Cavan), Conor McElduff (Tyrone), Aisling Reilly (Antrim).

Club Award – Slaughtneil (Derry), Ballinderry (Derry), Termon Ladies (Donegal).

Team of the Year – Fermanagh Footballers, Fermanagh Hurlers, Tyrone U21 Footballers.

Young Achiever of the Year – Mark Bradley (Tyrone), Ciarán McGeary (Tyrone), Aimee Mackin (Armagh).

Communications Award – Noel Duffy (Monaghan), Eunan Lindsay (Tyrone), Pauric McGurn (Fermanagh).

Personality of the Year – Mickey Harte (Tyrone), Malachy O’Rourke (Monaghan), Sean Quigley (Fermanagh).