Inishowen Electoral Area
Could be three each for Sinn Féin and Fianna Fáil in Inishowen

Inishowen Electoral Area
Could be three each for Sinn Féin and Fianna Fáil in Inishowen
* 18 candidates seeking nine seats

* 18 candidates seeking nine seats

Martin McDermott (38) from Glengad has topped the poll in the Inishowen Electoral Area with a whopping 2,034 first preference votes. In any terms it’s a huge tally by the man from the very northern end of the electoral area.

By Michael Daly

The Fianna Fáil candidate told voters in the run up to Friday’s election how he wanted to improve local public services, secure local funding, develop tourism and the fishing industry and now he will get the chance to do just that when the new 37 seat Donegal county council meets for the first time in June.

Based on tally figures McDermott is home and hosed, well over the quota which is expected to be circa 1,600 votes, while Fianna Fáil look set to take one third of the nine Inishowen seats up for grabs.

Sinn Féin also look to be in a strong position to take three seats, their third candidate, Ciaran McLaughlin will need transfer help from Jack Murray and Albert Doherty who are second and third in terms of first preference votes at the moment.

Fine Gael’s veteran Bernard McGuinness and the Independent Nicolas Crossan will take seats. There is huge interest to see if Labour’s Martin Farren can hold his seat on the council.

1st Tally – Inishowen

Martin Mc Dermott (FF) 2,034

Jack Murray (SF) 1,441

Albert Doherty (SF) 1,311

Bernard Mc Guinness (FG) 1,185

Nicholas Crossan (Ind) 1,255

Rena Donaghey (FF) 1098

Paul Canning (FF) 1,139

Martin Farren (Lab) 1,012

Ciaran Mc Laughlin (SF) 952

John Ryan (FG) 874

Joe Murphy (PBP) 583

Patrick Mc Carroll (Ind) 556

Mary Mc Cauley (FF) 493

Mickey Doherty (FG) 607

Peter Mc Laughlin FG 358

Ryan Stewart (Ind) 299

Paul Ferguson (Ind) 90

Eilis Harden (DDI) 93

Counting proper gets underway at 9am on Sunday morning at the Gateway Hotel in Buncrana. Declan Magee will be there to report for the Donegal Democrat Online and for the Donegal People’s Press and Donegal Democrat.