Donegal League annual Presentation Night

Diarmaid Doherty


Diarmaid Doherty


The vice-chairman of the Donegal League, Nigel Ferry, said the organisation continues to go from strength to strength and plans are already in place for the league’s 50th anniversary in 2021.
Speaking at Friday night’s annual awards celebrations, Mr. Ferry said another hugely successful season had just been completed and he congratulated the clubs, officials and players for the part they played.
He said one of the highlights of the year was the Oscar Traynor Cup team’s run to the semi-final of the national competition. He said the players and management deserved great credit for the efforts and commitment shown over the season. He added that they’d represented their clubs and the league with distinction throughout the competition.
Mr. Ferry also acknowledged the commitment of the teams, the players and volunteers across the county who give of their time so freely.
“Only for you, this league wouldn’t be going as far as it’s going,” he said.
“Hopefully, please God, in 2021 we will be 50 years in existence and we have big plans for that as well. So keep it going, with the backing of the clubs, we hope to have great celebrations in 2021.”
Mr. Ferry also offered a message of good luck to Seamus Coleman and Shay Given, two former Donegal League players, who are currently in France with the Irish squad for the Euros.
“On behalf of the league, we wish Ireland well, but particularly Seamie and Shay, two former players in the league,” he said.
“It’s great to see those guys excelling and hopefully doing their stuff in France this year.”
Drumoghill FC, champions in the Brian McCormick Sports Premier Division, were the big winners at Friday night’s event in the Radisson Hotel, Letterkenny.
Not only were they presented with their league winners medals, Michael Lynch was named manager of the year and Chris Malseed picked up the Player of the Year award in the Premier Division.
The league also presented Lifetime Achievement awards to Drumoghill FC clubman, Kieran O’Donnell and George McMullan (Dunkineely Celtic) for their contribution to their clubs over the years.
Among the guests at Friday’s event was Mary McAteer from Rathmullan, a former long-time member of the league’s executive.

Manager of the Year: Michael Lynch, Drumoghill FC
Special Recognition Award: Oscar Traynor Panel
Lifetime Achievement Award: George McMullan (Dunkineely Celtic) and Kieran O’Donnell (Drumoghill FC)
Benny Daly Fair Play Award: Arranmore United
Classic Hardware Golden Boot Award Winners
Premier Division: JP Malley, Castlefin Celtic
Div 1: Mark Hunter, Lagan Harps
Division Two: Shane Gallagher, Deele Harps, Damien Glackin, Ballybofey United
Saturday League: Gavin McGlanaghey, Arranmore United
Saturday League Reserve: Matthew O’Rourke, Castlefin Celtic
Player of the Year awards:
Premier Division: Chris Malseed, Drumoghill FC
First Division: Mark Hunter, Lagan Harps
Division Two: Philip Patton, Erne Wanderers
Saturday League: Gavin McGlanaghey, Arranmore United
Saturday League Reserve: Ciaran McGeady, Glenea United.