Good win for Donegal U-21s against Sligo

The Donegal U-21 side pictured before their game with Sligo in Bundoran.

The Donegal U-21 side pictured before their game with Sligo in Bundoran.

Donegal U-21s had a good workout when overcoming Sligo in Bundoran on Saturday.

Donegal 0-15

Sligo 1-5

Donegal were without their four senior panellists - Patrick McBrearty, Marty O’Reilly, Ryan McHugh and Odhran MacNiallais - as well as the likes of Luke Keaney and John O’Malley, but despite that it was a very good workout.

There were very good performances from Willie Gillespie and local Conor Clancy, while Caolan Ward, Barry Griffin, Ciaran Cannon, Eoin McHugh, Christopher Barrett, Conor Gibbons and Padraig Doherty put in strong performances.

The one downside from the display was that Donegal registered 18 wides over the course of the hour.

Willie Gillespie was denied two goals insie 12 minutes by the Sligo ‘keeper but by the end of the first of three 20 minute periods, Donegal led by 0-5 to 0-1 with Gillespie, Conor Gibbons and Christopher Barrett on the scoresheet.

The Donegal performance dipped considerably in the second period and Sligo got back in the contest with a Mickey O’Hare goal, but by the end of 40 minutes, Donegal still led 0-8 to 1-3.

Donegal were much the better side in the final period with Michael Cannon getting two great scores while Gibbons and Barrett also got further scores.

Donegal: Peter Boyle; Kevin McFadden, Caolan Ward, Conor Parke; Barry Griffin, Gavin Gallagher, Aidy O’Gara; Ciaran Cannon, Gary Clancy; Eoin McHugh, Christopher Barrett (0-4), Michael Cannon (0-2); Conor Gibbons (0-5,3f), Leon Kelly, Willie Gillespie (0-3). Subs., Pauric Carr for O’Gara, Aidan Sweeney for Cannon, Padraig Doherty for Griffin, all 28; Michael Cannon for G Gallagher 40; John McGarvey, Anthony Browne (0-1) for McHugh, B Griffin for Clancy, all 46; A O’Gara for Parke 55.

Sligo: John O’Hara; Ciaran Brennan, Gareth Ryan, Conor Gorman; Mickey O’Hare (1-0), Ian O’Dowd, Donal Brady; Denis Coffey, Raymond Connolly; Cian Curran (0-1,f), Joe Rogers (0-2), Niall McManus; Christopher Davey, Brian Egan (0-2), Cathal Brennan (0-1).

Referee: Donal Connolly (Monaghan)


Back to the top of the page