St John’s Point Lighthouse will shortly open its doors to the public.
It is one of 12 lighthouses selected for the Great Lighthouses of Ireland tourism initiative.
The lighthouse at St John’s Point is made of cut granite. It was designed by lauded civil engineer George Halpin Senior and came into operation in 1831. It was automated in 1932 and converted to electric operation some 30 years later.
It continues to play a vital role in marine safety, serving as a harbour light to guide from Donegal Bay and marking the north side of Killybegs Harbour.
As it is visitors regulary drive down just to look at this iconic structure known to so many.