No one elected after first Donegal EA count

Keeping a close eye on the figures in Donegal Town.

Keeping a close eye on the figures in Donegal Town.

No candidate made the quota in the first count for the Donegal Local Electoral Area.

The results were announced at 4.20pm in the St John Bosco Centre, Donegal Town.

As predicted in all the tallies, Independent Niamh Kennedy topped the poll, with 1,738 votes.

FF’s Sean McEniff was next on 1,642 and Ind. Tom Conaghan third on 1,580.

The total electorate was 22,050 and the number of ballots cast 14,013. With 132 spoilt votes, the the number of valid ballots was 13,881.

Independent candidate Patricia McCafferty was excluded,with just 27 votes which will now be transferred.

The full count was as follows:

Boyle, John Fine Gael 887

Byrne, Brendan Fianna Fáil 1,096

Campbell, John Non-Party 1,219

Conaghan, Tom Non-Party 1,580

Jordan, Noel Andrew Sinn Féin 1,088

Kennedy, Jonathan Non-Party 376

Kennedy, Niamh Non-Party 1,738

McCafferty, Patricia Non-Party 27

McEniff, Sean Fianna Fáil 1,642

McMahon, Michael Sinn Féin 970

McManus, Lawrence Non-Party 209

McNulty, John Fine Gael 816

McNulty, Joseph Non-Party 356

Mulhern, Bernie Non-Party 225

Naughton, Michéal Fianna Fáil 590

O’Neill, Barry Fine Gael 1,062




Back to the top of the page