McBrearty top earning councillor

Cllr. Frank McBrearty

Cllr. Frank McBrearty

Former Donegal Mayor, Cllr Frank McBrearty Jr, has been revealed as the highest-earning county councillor for the years 2012-2013.

He claimed just over €92,000, the Irish Independent reported. Cllr McBrearty claimed €47,030 in 2012 and €45,161 in 2013, bringing his total to €92,191.

The next highest-earning councillor was Cllr Brendan Byrne with €87,309, followed by Cllr David Alcorn with €86,738.

The lowest earning was Sinn Féin Councillor Mick Quinn with €44,179.

The highest earner in Leitrim was independent Councillor Enda Stenson, with €88,464. In Sligo, it was Labour Party Councillor Veronica Cawley with €88,771.

Councillors are paid an annual salary of €16,565, and can claim expenses for attending meetings, conferences and training. There are payments for the positions of mayor and deputy major and for chairing certain committees, as well as other allowed claims.

Total salaries and other payments the Independent reported for Donegal county councillors (2012-2013):

In the Donegal Electoral Area, Cllr John Boyle’s total was €64,719; Cllr Brendan Byrne, €87,309; Cllr John Campbell, €62,114; Cllr Sean McEniff, €53,212; and Cllr Barry O’Neill, €55,009.

In Glenties, Cllr Davis Alcorn’s total was €86,738; Cllr Pádraig Doherty, €56,886; Cllr Marie Therese Gallagher, €60,138; Cllr. Seamus Ó Domhnaill, €62,029; and Cllr Terence Slowey, €70,378.

In Inishowen, Cllr Paul Canning totalled €60,527; Cllr Mickey Doherty, €52,372; Cllr Rena Donaghey, €56,906; Cllr Martin Farren, €63,033; Cllr Bernard McGuinness, €51,009; Cllr Jack Murray, €51,161; and Cllr John Ryan, €53,744.

In Letterkenny, Cllr Liam Blaney’s total was €58,413; Cllr Ciaran Brogan, €63,210; Cllr Dessie Larkin, €77.601; Cllr Michael McBride, €63,979; Cllr Noel McBride, €75,007; Cllr Ian McGarvey, €69,177; and Cllr Mick Quinn, €44,179.

In Stranorlar, Cllr Gerry Crawford’s total was €50,573; Cllr Martin Harley, €62,617; Cllr Frank McBrearty Jr, €92,191; Cllr Patrick McGowan, €56,865; Cllr Cora Harvey claimed €52,023 but stepped down in October 2013; her successor, Cllr Gary Doherty, claimed €2,220 for 2013.




Back to the top of the page