Martin O’Neill to present Pramerica youth awards

Martin O'Neill OBE

Martin O'Neill OBE

Republic of Ireland Football Manager, Martin O’Neill OBE will present the Pramerica Spirit of Community Awards next Wednesday at Lough Eske Castle, Donegal Town.

The gala event will see the two overall All Ireland Youth Volunteers of the Year being named.

O’Neill is a huge advocate for youth participation in sport, and in communities and says this event is valuable recognition for young people across the island of Ireland.

“We need to celebrate our young people today to inspire them into being leaders of tomorrow,” he commented.

“We salute the 20 finalist for this programme and the other young people who are helping those in need.”

The Pramerica Spirit of Community Awards is the only programme in Ireland that honours and celebrates youth volunteerism. Organised by Pramerica, the programme has been running for eight years and since its launch, has recognised more than 1,500 students in more than 130 schools.

The awards are held in partnership with the National Association of Principals and Deputy Principals and the General Teaching Council for Northern Ireland.

The selection committee that will choose the two All-Ireland Youth Volunteers of the Year will include John Hume as chair; Andrea McBride, Pramerica; Ivan Arbuthnot, GTCNI; Clive Byrne, Director, NAPD; Wendy Osbourne, CEO Volunteer Now and Yvonne McKenna, CEO Volunteer Ireland.




Back to the top of the page