Gradam Glór na nGael prize for RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta

The annual Gradam Ghlór na nGael prize 2012 has been won by RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta.

The prize recognises outstanding work by organisations and individuals to promote the Irish language, and Lorcán Mac Gabhann, Head of Glór na nGael, said that RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta had done just that over the last 40 years.

Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh, Seán Bán Breathnach, The Irish Language Commissioner, and newspaper Lá, are some of the previous recipients of this prize.

Edel Ní Chuireáin, Ceannaire of RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta said: “This is valuable recognition of the work of RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta over the past 40 years to provide a platform for the Irish language, the Gaeltacht and Irish language communities. I would like to congratulate our staff, both past and present, who commit every day to working to promote the language.”

Lorcán Mac Gabhann and National Manager of Glór na nGael Nóra Welby, were in RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta HQ in Casla, Connemara today to announce the winners of the annual Glór na nGael prizes. The competition rewards local committees for work to promote and normalise the use of Irish in their communities. Over 100 groups took part in the main competition this year, which has a top prize of €40,000, and a total prize fund of some €150,000.

The prizes will be presented at a gala event in Clontarf Castle in April, and the winner of the overall prize of €40,000 will also be announced on the night.




Back to the top of the page