Five garda stations to close next week

editorial image

editorial image

Five Garda Stations in Donegal are to close within ten days.

The closures are part of An Garda Síochána’s ‘Station Consolidation Programme 2013’. Malin, Annagaire, Glencolmcille, Brockagh and Churchill will all close on January 31.

Policing responsibility for the areas affected will transfer to Carndonagh, Bunbeg, Carrick, Ballybofey and Kilmacrennan respectively.

A Garda spokesperson said the station closures will result in: more effective use of limited resources; increased Garda visibility and patrol hours; better mobility and flexibility and improved policing service to the public.




Back to the top of the page