Five Donegal garda stations to close, two districts to merge

editorial image

editorial image

Minister for Justice Alan Shatter has announced that four rural Garda stations in Donegal are to be closed and two districts, Glenties and Ballyshannon, are to be merged.

Garda stations in Annagry, Brockagh, Churchill, Glencolmcille and Malin stations are to close under the Garda District and Station Consolidation Programme. The areas previously covered by the stations to close will be transferred to Bunbeg, Ballybofey, Letterkenny, Carrick and Carndonagh respectively.

Cllr. Brendan Byrne told the Donegal Democrat: “I am extremely disappointed to learn that five rural stations here will close and especially disappointed that Glencolmcille is on of them. The station in Glencolmcille is very strategically located any time there is a search and rescue operation in the area, which does happen because of the numbers of visitors we get.

“The station is also critically important for the health and safety of the people living here. This is an issue that we’ve raised time and time again but it has not been taken on board by this government, who are hell bent on closing rural Ireland.”

Nationally, 100 stations will close and the existing 28 districts will be halved, the Oireachtas was told this afternoon.




Back to the top of the page